## **BY-ELECTION FACT SHEET** CLIFTON COMMUNITY BOARD **29 MAY 2024**



## Te Kaunihera-ā-Rohe o Ngāmotu

# New Plymouth District Council

## Background

As a result of a recent resignation, an extraordinary vacancy has occurred in the Clifton Community Board and a by-election is now required to fill the vacancy.

The by-election for the one vacancy will be held on Wednesday 29 May 2024. It will be conducted by postal vote under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to New Plymouth District Council.

The single transferable voting (STV) electoral system will be used for the by-election.

## Key dates for the by-election

Nominations open	Tuesday 5 March
Nominations close	Noon, Tuesday 2 April
Delivery of voting packs	from Tuesday 7 May
Close of voting	12 noon, Wednesday 29 May
Official results announced	PM, Wednesday 29 May

#### How can I be nominated?

## Nominations for this position will open on **Tuesday 5 March 2024** and close at 12 noon on **Tuesday 2 April 2024**.

Nomination papers will be available during this period from:

- New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth;
- Waitara Library and Service Centre, 15A Queen Street, Waitara;
- by accessing www.npdc.govt.nz;
- by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

#### Nominations can be returned by:

- hand to New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth; or
- post to the Electoral Officer, PO Box 5135, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142; or
- email to info@electionservices.co.nz

Nominations **cannot** be submitted at the Waitara Library and Service Centre.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate **must** be:

- a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony); and
- enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand) on either the general or Māori electoral roll; and
- nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the Clifton Community Board area.

### **Contact us**

election services Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland PO Box 5135, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142 Email: info@electionservices.co.nz Phone: 0800 922 822

## Who can vote?

Those eligible to vote are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on **Tuesday 2 April 2024**. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from **Tuesday 5 March** to **Tuesday 2 April** at:

- New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth;
- Waitara Library and Service Centre, 15A Queen Street, Waitara.

<u>Resident Roll:</u> All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- phoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 36 76 56)
- accessing the Electoral Commission website on www.vote.nz

<u>Ratepayer Roll:</u> If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area). Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available at www.npdc.govt.nz, or by phoning 0800 922 822.

#### How to vote?

Voting packs will be sent out in the mail to all those who have enrolled from **Tuesday 7 May 2024.** 

The voting period is three weeks (**Tuesday 7 May 2024 to 12 noon Wednesday 29 May 2024**). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the Electoral Officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document.

#### **Return of Voting Documents:**

Voting documents must be returned by post or hand delivered during normal business hours to the following locations:

- Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth;
- Waitara Library and Service Centre, 15 Queen Street, Waitara.

#### **Special Voting:**

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised during normal business hours only at the Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by **noon Wednesday 29 May 2024.** 

Results will be announced as soon as these are available after the close of voting on by-election day and will be accessible on Council's website: www.npdc.govt.nz

Helen Begg, Policy Coordinator & Executive Support New Plymouth District Council 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth Private Bag 2025, New Plymouth 4340 Email: helen.begg@npdc.govt.nz Phone: (06) 759 6060

